News Porsche News Tesla Volkswagen

2013 World Car Awards Announced

Google+ Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Every year, the World Car Awards are handed out to the most fitting cars. The categories are: World Car of the Year, World Performance Car, World Car Design of the Year, and World Green Car. In order to win in each category, the cars must first be voted on by an international jury panel of 66 automotive journalists from 23 different countries. The finalists for the 2013 World Car Awards were announced at the Geneva Motor Show, and the final winners were announced at the New York International Auto Show. Listed below are the 2013 Ward Car Awards winners.


World Green Car


Winner: Tesla Model S

The Tesla Model S was chosen from an initial entry list of 21 vehicles. The finalists included the Tesla Model S, Renault Zoe and the Volvo V60 Plug-In Hybrid.

The experts commented that, “The Tesla Model S has wowed the world’s press, and for good reason: It’s a car from a startup maker that actually competes on its merits with vehicles from established global players. The Model S is fast and stylish, its high-end models offer more range than any other electric car, and thus far, it appears to be well-built and selling well. Now that it’s in volume production, it can be argued that it is already the world’s most alluring green car that’s also practical and desirable.”

Previous World Green Car winners were the Mercedes-Benz S 250 CDI BlueEFFICIENCY in 2012, the Chevrolet Volt in 2011, the Volkswagen BlueMotion in 2010, the Honda FCX Clarity in 2009, the BMW 118d with Efficient Dynamics in 2008, the Mercedes-Benz E320 Bluetec in 2007 and the Honda Civic Hybrid in 2006


World Performance Car


Winner: Porsche Boxster / Cayman

The Porsche Boxster / Cayman was chosen from an initial list of 20 new cars. The finalists included the Ferrari F12berlinetta, Porsche Boxster / Cayman, and the Scion FR-S/Subaru BRZ/Toyota GT86.

This is the second consecutive year that Porsche has won the prestigious World Performance Car title and the third overall. The Porsche 911 won last year’s award and the Porsche Cayman won the inaugural World Performance Car award in 2006.

The experts commented that, “The Job One for this new generation of Porsche’s littler two-doors was actually two-fold. The Boxster needed to be seen as less of a fancy secretary’s car and the Cayman needed to be set loose to be an even better Porsche sports car than the iconic 911. In both instances, mission over-accomplished. Both cars are now allowed out of their company cages and they drive as if they’re celebrating.”

Previous World Performance Car winners were the Porsche 911 in 2012, the Ferrari 458 Italia in 2011, the Audi R8 V10 in 2010, the Nissan GT-R in 2009, the Audi R8 in 2008, the Audi RS4 in 2007 and the Porsche Cayman S in 2006.


World Car Design of the Year



Winner: Jaguar F-Type

There were 43 candidates competing for the chance win this category. The three finalists included the Jaguar F-Type, Mazda6 and the Aston Martin Vanquish.

The experts commented that, “The long wheelbase, short overhangs and flared fenders give this car a good stance. The contour in plan view tapered toward the door emphasizes the muscular rear fender that houses the driven wheels. The F-Type exterior maintains Jaguar’s own elegance in its horizontal proportion and rounded surfaces, yet it looks very dynamic. But I would like to say the interior design is even more attractive. It is clearly driver-oriented, and a grip bar for the passenger is nicely integrated into the big center console. The seat design is superb, too.”

Previous winners of the World Car Design of the Year award were the Range Rover Evoque in 2012, the Aston Martin Rapide in 2011, the Chevrolet Camaro in 2010, the Fiat 500 in 2009, the Audi R8 in 2008, the Audi TT in 2007 and the Citroen C4 in 2006.


World Car of the Year


Winner: Volkswagen Golf

The initial entry list for the car of the year awar included 42 vehicles. The finalists included the Mercedes-Benz A-Class, Porsche Boxster / Cayman, Subaru BRZ/Scion FR-S/ Toyota GT86, and the Volkswagen Golf.

This is actually the second consecutive year that Volkswagen has won this award. The Volkswagen Up! won the away in 2012.

The experts commented that, “Honed over seven generations since its original launch in 1974, the Volkswagen Golf is as close to the perfect hatchback design as any car company has come yet. Right sized, but spacious, practical and comfortable inside, the latest Golf has been brought up to date with a fresh if evolutionary design, a range of new engines, plus an impressive list of equipment and safety features. What’s more, it’s fun to drive. If ever there was a car for everyman, the Golf is it.”

Previous World Car of the Year winners were the Volkswagen Up! in 2012, the Nissan Leaf in 2011, the Volkswagen Polo in 2010, Volkswagen Golf in 2009, the Mazda2 / Mazda Demio in 2008, the Lexus LS460 in 2007, the BMW 3-Series in 2006, and the Audi A6 in 2005.