AMG GT C-Class

Mercedes-AMG GT S Safety Car for 2015 F1 Season

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

For the 2015 Formula One season, safety will be handled by a Mercedes-AMG GTS and a Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG S. This comes after a press release issued today by the German automotive manufacturer.

At the first Gran Prix in Melbourne, Australia, March 12-15, the GT S will debut as the Official Safety Car of the FIA Formula One World Championship. Additionally, the C63 S Estate will be ready to provide fast emergency medical care to those in need.

2015 Mercedes-AMG GT S Safety Car

The GT S is taking the place of the SLS AMG, which served as the safety car for five years.

What makes the safety car version of the GT S special is that only a small amount of modifications were required for it to become track ready. That means owners of the new GT S can take pride in knowing that they are driving a car that F1 cars follow on a regular basis.

2015 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG S Estate Safety Car
2015 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG S Estate Safety Car

As for the C63 S Estate medical car, it will be following the race cars in the starting lap. The reason for this is that the cars in the first lap are typically grouped close together, making accidents more likely to happen. If something tragic does happen, the C63 S will be right there to offer assistance.

(See Also: Celebrate 10 Years of the Bugatti Veyron)

Mercedes-Benz has been providing the safety and medical cars for the FIA Formula One World Championship since 1996. The past cars used include:

Safety Cars

  • 1996:                                         C 36 AMG (W 202)
  • from 1997:                                CLK 55 AMG (C 208)
  • 2000:                                         CL 55 AMG (C 215)
  • from 2001:                                SL 55 AMG (R 230)
  • 2003:                                         CLK 55 AMG (C 209)
  • from 2004:                                SL 55 AMG (R 171)
  • from 2006:                                CLK 63 AMG (C 209)
  • from 2008:                                SL 63 AMG (R 230)
  • from 2010:                                SLS AMG (C 197)
  • from 2012 (Belgium):             SLS AMG GT (C 197)
  • since 2015:                              Mercedes-AMG GT S (C 190)

Medical Cars

  • 1996:                                         C 36 AMG (W 202)
  • 1997:                                         C 36 AMG (W 202); E 60 AMG (W 210)
  • from 1998:                                C 55 AMG Estate (S 202)
  • from 2001:                                C 32 AMG Estate (S 203)
  • from 2004:                                C 55 AMG Estate (S 203)
  • from 2008:                                C 63 AMG Estate (S 204)
  • since 2015:                              Mercedes-AMG C 63 S Estate (S 205)

View Mercedes-Benzs For Sale


(Source: Mercedes-Benz/Daimler)

See More Mercedes-Benz News